Audit and Risk Committee


The Audit and Risk Committee (ARC) reviews the effectiveness of the University's risk management, control and governance arrangements, and satisfies itself that appropriate arrangements are in place to promote economy, efficiency and effectiveness (value for money). It oversees the University’s internal and external audit arrangements, including the implementation of actions in response to audit-based recommendations, and audit aspects of the financial statements. The Committee receives assurance on the quality and management of data and returns to external agencies such as funding bodies, Office for Students (OfS) and the Higher Education Statistical Agency (HESA); and on compliance with the requirements of regulatory agencies, such as the OfS and UK Visas and Immigration. ARC, in liaison with the Senate, periodically checks the effectiveness and assurance provided by the systems and processes for academic governance, quality and standards.


Independent members appointed by council 

Ranjit Dhindsa, Independent Council Member, term ends 31 July 2022

Dr Melanie Gibbs, Independent Council Member, term ends 31 July 2022

Sanjay Khullar, Independent Member, term ends 31 July 2021

Toby Lewis (Chair), Independent Council Member, term ends 31 July 2021 


By invitation 

Dr Rob Perrins, Chair of Finance & Infrastructure Committee, term ends 31 July 2023


Internal Auditors 

Alison Davies, Director of Finance

Alan Hawkesworth, Head of Strategic Risk

Neil Scott, Chief Operating Officer

John Walter, Director of Governance (Secretary), Secretary to Council and Senate


External Auditors 

Kyla Bellingall, BDO Partner

Sam Lifford, BDO Senior Manager


Internal Auditors

Geraldine Rutter, PwC Partner

Ben Connor, PwC Senior Manager

Terms of Reference