These annual Awards celebrate the amazing work carried out by Aston staff every day, commending the dedication and commitment shown within Schools and Departments to our research, students, and to the University as a whole.

The nomination process is simple, to encourage you to take the time to nominate colleagues in one or more of the following Award categories:

Beneficiary: Students

  • Enriching the Student Experience
  • Excellent Learning and Teaching Practice

Beneficiary: Business and the professions

  • Outstanding Business Engagement and/or Innovation
  • Excellent Research (including research support and supervision)
  • Outstanding Research Impact *NEW AWARD*

Beneficiary: Our region and society

  • Outstanding Contribution to the Region, Local Community or Environment *UPDATED AWARD*
  • Exceptional International Activities

Culture and organisation - Aspirational and high performance

  • Best Customer Service
  • Professional Staff Member of the Year
  • Outstanding Technical or Digital Support *NEW AWARD*
  • Best Newcomer
  • Excellent Citizenship
  • Unsung Hero
  • Vice-Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Contribution to the University

Nominations can be put forward by any member of staff, and students can nominate for Best Customer Service, Enriching the Student Experience and Excellent Learning and Teaching Awards. The nomination process is straight forward, with a nomination form to be used for all awards and brief guidelines for each award. It is imperative that you read the general information, which is provided to assist with the nomination process. The nomination form should be used for all submissions.

Nominations for all awards will be considered by a panel, chaired by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor.

See a list of our previous winners below:

  • The closing date for receipt of nominations is 17:00 on Friday 2 July 2021.
  • All nominees will be invited to a drinks reception on Tuesday 20 July 2021.
  • The winners will be announced w/c 16 August 2021.
  • The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 23 September 2021.

Questions or queries relating to the awards, as well as completed nomination forms, should be directed to Clare Noakes.