In Memoriam: Dr. Márton Petykó

It is with deep sadness that we announce the passing of Dr Márton Petykó at home on Saturday 11 November, following a period of illness.

His wife, Barbara, and his father were by his side.

Márton was a great friend to all of us in AIFL and beyond. His research at the intersection of forensic linguistics and corpus linguistics has made a significant contribution and will continue to inform the work of many others in their research in our disciplines.

To celebrate and honour Márton's life and legacy, a memorial service will be organised, with details to be announced in due course. Additionally, a Book of Memories has been placed in NW915, Main Building, Aston University for those who wish to share their thoughts and memories of him. This book will be open for entries until Monday 4 December. It will then be presented to Barbara as a testament to the impact Márton had on our community.

During this time of mourning, we would like to remind our members of our community that support is available through the University's services for anyone needing assistance or comfort.

We extend our deepest sympathies to Márton's family and to all who knew him. His absence will be deeply felt, but his legacy will continue to live on through the work and lives he touched.

Image
dr marton petyko

The mission of the Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics is to improve the delivery of justice through the analysis of language.  

We are one of four Aston University Research Institutes.  We study forensic texts and contexts producing academically rigorous, high impact research using insights and methods from diverse areas of linguistics to improve the delivery of justice.

The Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics (AIFL) was founded in 2019. It is a substantial expansion of the former Aston Centre for Forensic Linguistics, which was founded in 2008. In the autumn of  2019 we appointed a total of 15 new staff to establish the Institute. This expansion was funded via a £6M investment including a £5.4M award from Research England’s Expanding Excellence in England (E3) fund.

E-mailforensiclinguistics@aston.ac.uk
​​​​​​

Research

Continuous Professional Development

We are organised in the following centres

Our People

Institute Members
Dr Zoë Adams 
Research Fellow
Email: z.adams@aston.ac.uk
Fiona Kelcher
Teaching Fellow 
Dr Sarah Atkins 
Research and Teaching Fellow
Email: s.atkins@aston.ac.uk
Dr Krzysztof Kredens
Director of the Centre for Forensic Text Analysis
Email: k.j.kredens@aston.ac.uk
Dr Lucia Busso 
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics 
Email: l.busso@aston.ac.uk
Dr Stefanie Kreibich 
Operations Manager 
Email: s.kreibich@aston.ac.uk
Dr Emily Chiang 
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: e.chiang2@aston.ac.uk
Dr Nicci MacLeod
Senior Lecturer in Forensic Linguistics
Email: n.macleod5@aston.ac.uk
Prof Malcom Coulthard
Chair of Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics Advisory Board
Email: r.m.coulthard@aston.ac.uk
Dr Andrea Mojedano Batel
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: a.mojedanobatel@aston.ac.uk
Dr Felicity Deamer
Lecturer in Forensic Linguistics
Email: f.deamer@aston.ac.uk
Dr Geoffrey Stewart Morrison
Director of the Forensic Speech Science Laboratory
Email: g.s.morrison@aston.ac.uk
Prof Tim Grant
Director of the Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics
Email: t.d.grant@aston.ac.uk
Dr Ralph Morton
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: r.morton2@aston.ac.uk
Dr Kate Haworth
Director of the Centre for Spoken Interaction in Legal Contexts
Email: k.haworth@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Márton Petykó
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: m.petyko@aston.ac.uk
Dr Annina Heini
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: a.heini14@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Tahmineh Tayebi
Lecturer in Forensic Linguistics
Email: t.tayebi@aston.ac.uk
Dr Madison Hunter
Research Assistant in Forensic Linguistics
Email: m.hunter5@aston.ac.uk
Dr Philip Weber 
Lecturer in Forensic Data Science
Email: p.weber1@aston.ac.uk 
Honorary and Adjunct Members
Mitchell Abrams
Visiting AIFL Researcher
Email: 190205803@aston.ac.uk
FTA
John O'Shea 
Legal Translation Practitioner
CLL
Dr Ewald Enzinger
Senior Research Engineer Eduworks Corporation
FSSL
Dr Ria Perkins
Email: r.perkins@aston.ac.uk
FTA

Prof Lauren Devine
Professor of Linguistics and Law
Lancaster University

Dr Claudia Rosas
Instituto de Lingüística y Literatura, Universidad Austral de Chile
FSSL
Prof Yaron Matras
Honorary Professor, Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics, School of Social Sciences
Personal website: yaronmatras.org
FTA 
Dr Juliette Scott
Legal Translation Practitioner, Researcher & Consultant
CLL
 
Dr Isabel Picornell
Director, QED Forensic Linguistics Ltd
Email: isabel@qedforensics.com
FTA, SILC
Prof Cuiling Zhang
School of Criminal Investigation, Southwest University of Political Science and Law
FSSL
Members of the AIFL Advisory Board
Malcolm Coulthard
Professor Emeritus, Birmingham University
Chair of the AIFL Advisory Board
Chris Heffer
Reader, Cardiff University
Email: HefferC2@cardiff.ac.uk
Adviser for SILC
Peter Patrick
Professor Emeritus, Essex University
Email: patrickp@essex.ac.uk
Adviser for FTA
Didier Meuwly
Professor, University of Twente
Email: d.meuwly@utwente.nl
Adviser to FDSL
Janet Ainsworth
John D. Eshelman Professor of Law Emerita, Seattle University
Email: jan@seattleu.edu
Adviser for CLL
Deborah Leary, OBE
CEO and founder of Forensic Pathways
Adviser to AIFL
 
Yaron Matras
Honorary Professor, Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics, School of Social Sciences
Personal website: yaronmatras.org
Adviser to AIFL
 

 

PhD Research Students
Neus Alberich Buera
Research Student
Email: 190184416@aston.ac.uk
Madeleine Palmer
Research Student
Email: 220350251@aston.ac.uk
Amy Booth
Research Student
Email: 190115661@aston.ac.uk
Andrew Patrick Reczek
Research Student
Email: reczeka@aston.ac.uk
Lily Calloway
Research Student
Email: 220337506@aston.ac.uk
Raphael Ribeiro
Research Student
Melanie Clinton
Research Student
Email: 220288426@aston.ac.uk
Jordan Robertson
Research Student
Email: 200203975@aston.ac.uk
Julija Danu
Research Student
Email: 220295479@aston.ac.uk
Lisa Rogers
Research Student
Email: rogersl1@aston.ac.uk
Jenna Elliott
Research Student
Natascha Rohde
Research Student
Email: 180176838@aston.ac.uk
Liubov Green
Research Student
Email: greenl6@aston.ac.uk
Daniela Schneevogt
Research Student
Email: schneevd@aston.ac.uk
Lauren Morgan
Research Student
Grace Sutcliffe
Research Student
Eden Palmer
Research Student
 

 Our Teaching

Master of Arts in Forensic Linguistics 

We run a one-year Master of Arts in Forensic Linguistics programme.

NEW FOR 2022: Study for the MA Forensic Linguistics entirely online. Find more details here.

Members of the Institute teach the undergraduate courses “Language and Law” and “Language as Evidence”.

Potential PhD students should in the first instance make enquiries with the Aston academic staff member with whom they are interested in working. Note that only members with the rank of Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Reader, Associate Professor, or Professor can supervise PhD students.

PhD supervision

We are currently advertising for up to two fully-funded PhD studentships for October 2024 entry. Please have a look for more details on the Aston Graduate School pages.

The Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics (AIFL) has a proven track-record of supervising PhD students in the areas of forensic linguistics and language and law, and we are always keen to hear from strong candidates interested in completing a doctorate research degree under our supervision. 

Potential PhD students should in the first instance make enquiries with the Aston academic staff member with whom they are interested in working. Note that only members with the rank of Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Reader, Associate Professor, or Professor can supervise PhD students.

This includes Prof Tim Grant, Dr Krzysztof Kredens, Dr Geoffrey Stewart Morrison, Dr Tahmineh Tayebi, Dr Kate Haworth, Dr Nicci MacLeod, and Dr Felicity Deamer. Their research interests can be found on the AIFL pages of Aston Research Explorer.

For informal enquiries about PhD supervision, please contact the individual you would like to become your supervisor or, for more general enquiries, Professor Tim Grant (t.d.grant@aston.ac.uk).

Please find more information about the application process by visiting this website.

You may also be interested in: 

Casework and consulting

The Institute itself does not conduct casework; however, members of the Institute conduct investigative and evidential casework in the civil and criminal courts in multiple jurisdictions around the world. Our research informs our casework activity, and our casework experience informs our research and teaching.

Members of the Institute also take part in non-casework consulting.  This includes advising commercial security organisations, lawyers, and HR departments about risks management.