Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics

The mission of the Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics is to improve the delivery of justice through the analysis of language.  

Our research is always Excellent.  It is often Collaborative, in terms of working with beneficiaries, research and higher education institutions and across disciplinary boundaries. It is always Impactful with a view to creating real insight within the broader justice system, often leading to change of policy and practice. Additionally, through the creation of the University Research Institute our research will become more Sustainable – we have ambitious targets to win further research funds to expand forensic linguistic capability for the UK and the international community. We aim to build a globally significant hub for forensic linguistics research.

The Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics (AIFL) was founded in 2019. It is a substantial expansion of the former Aston Centre for Forensic Linguistics that was founded in 2008 and in the autumn of  2019 we appointed a total of 15 new staff to establish the Institute.  This expansion was funded via a £6M investment including a £5.4M award from Research England’s Expanding Excellence in England (E3) fund.

E-mailforensiclinguistics@aston.ac.uk
 

We are organised into the following Centres: 

Events

The Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics hosts wide and varied events, intending to build upon a history of collaboration between academic researchers, professionals and society. Events range from weekly ‘topic-specific seminars’, through to an annual conference, with the key aim to improve the delivery of justice through the analysis of language. Our events are free and open to the public unless specified otherwise.

Publications

Find out more about our recent publications here.

Our People

Institute Members
Dr Neus Alberich
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: n.alberich@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Nadia Makouar
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: n.makour@aston.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Atkins 
Research Fellow in Forensic Linguistics 
Email: s.atkins@aston.ac.uk
Dr Andrea Mojedano Batel
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: a.mojedanobatel@aston.ac.uk
Dr Nabanita Basu
Research Associate in Forensic Data Science, 
Email: n.basu@aston.ac.uk
Dr Ralph Morton
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: r.morton2@aston.ac.uk
Dr Lucia Busso 
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics 
Email: l.busso@aston.ac.uk
Dr Helen Newsome
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: h.newsome@aston.ac.uk
Dr Emily Chiang 
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: e.chiang2@aston.ac.uk
Dr Geoffrey Stewart Morrison
Director of the Forensic Speech Science Laboratory
Email: g.s.morrison@aston.ac.uk
Prof Malcom Coulthard
Chair of Aston Institute of Forensic Linguistics Advisory Board
Dr Márton Petykó
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: m.petyko@aston.ac.uk
Dr Felicity Deamer
Research Fellow in Forensic Linguistics
Email: f.deamer@aston.ac.uk
Dr Piotr Pezik
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: p.pezik@aston.ac.uk
Prof Lauren Devine
Director of the Centre for Language and Law
Email: l.devine@aston.ac.uk
John Pollard
Operations Manager 
Email: j.pollard2@aston.ac.uk
Prof Tim Grant
Director of the Aston Institute for Forensic Linguistics
Email: t.d.grant@aston.ac.uk
Dr Roberto Puch-Solis    
Deputy Director of the Forensic Data Science Laboratory, Senior Lecturer in Forensic Data Science
Email: r.puchsolis@aston.ac.uk
Dr Leigh Harrington
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics               
Email: l.harrington@aston.ac.uk
Dr Emma Richardson
Research Fellow in Forensic Linguistics
Email: e.richardson4@aston.ac.uk
Dr Kate Haworth
Director of the Centre for Spoken Interaction in Legal Contexts
Email: k.haworth@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Tahmineh Tayebi
Lecturer in Forensic Linguistics
Email: t.tayebi@aston.ac.uk
Dr Annie Heini
Research Associate in Forensic Linguistics
Email: a.heini14@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Philip Weber 
Research Fellow in Forensic Data Science
Email: p.weber1@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Krzysztof Kredens
Director of the Centre for Forensic Text Analysis
Email: k.j.kredens@aston.ac.uk
 
Honorary and Adjunct Members
Mitchell Abrams
Visiting AIFL Researcher
Email: 190205803@aston.ac.uk
FTA
John O'Shea 
Legal Translation Practitioner
CLL
 
Dr Ewald Enzinger
Senior Research Engineer Eduworks Corporation
FSSL
Dr Ria Perkins
Email: r.perkins@aston.ac.uk
FTA

Dr Isabel Picornell
Director, QED Forensic Linguistics Ltd
Email: isabel@qedforensics.com
FTA, SILC

Dr Claudia Rosas
Instituto de Lingüística y Literatura, Universidad Austral de Chile
FSSL
Prof Yaron Matras
Emeritus Prof Uni Manchester
Email:yaron.matras@manchester.ac.uk
FTA 
 
Dr Juliette Scott
Legal Translation Practitioner, Researcher & Consultant
CLL
 
Prof Cuiling Zhang
School of Criminal Investigation, Southwest University of Political Science and Law
FSSL
 
PhD Research Students
Holly Anderson
Research Student
Email: andersh1@aston.ac.uk
Alice Richardson
Research Student
Email: 149160490@aston.ac.uk
Juliane Ford
Research Student
Email: fordj1@aston.ac.uk
Lisa Rogers
Research Student
Email: rogersl1@aston.ac.uk
Liubov Green
Research Student
Email: greenl6@aston.ac.uk
Natascha Rohde
Research Student
Email: 180176838@aston.ac.uk
 
Marlon Hurt
Research Student
Email: hurtm@aston.ac.uk
Daniela Schneevogt
Research Student
Email: schneevd@aston.ac.uk
Fiona Kelcher
Research Student
Email: kelcherf@aston.ac.uk
Madison Hunter 
Research Student
Email: 190185697@aston.ac.uk
Andrew Patrick Reczek
Research Student
Email: reczeka@aston.ac.uk
 

 

You may also be interested in: 

Our teaching

Members of the Institute teach the undergraduate courses “Language and Law” and “Language as Evidence”.

We run a one-year Master of Arts in Forensic Linguistics programme.

Potential PhD students should in the first instance make enquiries with the Aston academic staff member with whom they are interested in working. Note that only members with the rank of Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Reader, Associate Professor, or Professor can supervise PhD students.

Continued Professional Development

Members of the Institute have substantial experience in providing Continuing Professional Development (CPD) training for lawyers, law enforcement investigators, and forensic scientists. This includes open CPD events, and tailored training delivered to law enforcement agencies, government departments, and commercial organisations. Please contact us if you want training tailored to your needs.

Topics we offer training on include:

  • General forensic linguistics
  • Interpreter-mediated interviewing
  • Linguistic investigative skills
  • Online identity assumption for undercover police officers
  • Forensic speech science
  • Forensic inference and statistics
Casework and consulting

The Institute itself does not conduct casework; however, members of the Institute conduct investigative and evidential casework in the civil and criminal courts in multiple jurisdictions around the world. Our research informs our casework activity, and our casework experience informs our research and teaching.

Members of the Institute also take part in non-casework consulting.  This includes advising commercial security organisations, lawyers, and HR departments about risks management.