Pharmacy staff

Academic staff within the School come from a variety of backgrounds, including healthcare professionals from pharmacy and nursing, along with healthcare scientists and neuroscientists. In addition, we have a team of specialist technicians supporting our teaching and research activity.


Professor Chris Langley

Head of Aston Pharmacy School: Professor Chris Langley (Professor)

Chris is a Professor of Pharmacy Law and Practice. He is a Fellow of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society (FRPharmS), a Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (PFHEA), and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB). He teaches pharmacy and healthcare law across the MPharm and OSPAP courses, and his main areas of research interest surround the role of the pharmacist within both primary and secondary care and in pharmacy education and policy.

Key roles

Deputy Head of Pharmacy: Mark Brenan (Reader)

Associate Head of Pharmacy (Education): Dr Joe Bush (Senior Lecturer)

Education Operations Manager: Natalie Lewis (Senior Lecturer)

Head of Neuroscience: Professor Gavin Woodhall (Professor)

Head of Pharmaceutical Sciences: Professor Afzal Mohammed (Professor)

Head of Pharmacology: Professor David Poyner (Professor)

Head of Professional Experience: Dr Ruth Edwards (Senior Lecturer)

Head of Therapeutics: Dr Kay Wood (Senior Lecturer)

Head of Technical Services: Jiteen Ahmed

Academic staff
Technical staff
  • Daniel Burrell 
  • Jennifer Butler 
  • Matthew Crossley 
  • Jonathan Edwards 
  • Wayne Fleary 
  • Rachel Heath 
  • Christine Jakeman 
  • Nikunj Patel 
  • Jeffrey Preece 
  • Hayley Smith 
  • Kathryn Townsend