Purpose of the committee

The purpose of this committee is to develop, enable and evaluate the implementation of the University strategy for Learning and Teaching, ensuring that the College Learning and Teaching Strategies are consistent with this strategy and that all Learning and Teaching strategies support the University’s over-arching strategy.

The committee also has responsibility for enabling and evaluating the work of Colleges and central departments in identifying, promoting, and disseminating effective practice and innovation in programme design and delivery, in teaching, feedback and assessment methodologies, and making recommendations on the enhancement of the quality and standards of taught programmes and of the student learning experience.

Reports to

Membership and Terms of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary 

ChairProfessor Ruth Ayres

Membership by Area Represented

College of Business and Social SciencesProfessor Sue Garton
College of Business and Social SciencesDr. Keith Schofield
College of Business and Social SciencesChris Umfreville
College of Business and Social SciencesDr. Lloyd Parsons
College of Engineering and Physical SciencesDr Goudarz Poursharif
College of Engineering and Physical SciencesTBC
College of Engineering and Physical SciencesDr. Patrick Geoghegan
College of Health and Life Sciences Dr Amy Sheppard
College of Health and Life Sciences Dr. Alan Goddard
College of Health and Life Sciences Dr. Ann Vernallis
College of Health and Life Sciences Dr. Rob Nash
Associate PVC EducationDr Goudarz Poursharif
Partnerships Sub-CommitteeHannah Bartlett
Partnerships Sub-CommitteeTBC
Programme Approval and Development Sub-Committee (PADSC)Dr. Alan Goddard
Programme Approval and Development Sub-Committee (PADSC)Interim: Donna Wheat
Regulatory Sub-CommitteeProfessor Chris Langley
Regulatory Sub-CommitteeAdam Hewitt
Director of Academic QualityTBC
Director of Student and Academic ServicesAlison Levey
Careers and Employability LeadRachel McIntosh
Director of Library ServicesNominee: Clare Langman
HR RepresentativeClaire Freeman
Head of CELCA Ania Bailey
Head of Learning Development CentreEllen Pope
Education Team RepresentativeChris Wilson
Technology-Enhanced Learning RepresentativeAndrew Beddoe
Digital Services RepresentativeNominee: Stephen Asante-Boakye
Estates RepresentativeNominee: Claire Evans
Chief Operating OfficerNominee: Ian Oldacre
VP EducationAdora Wong


This Committee meets four times each academic year.

Dates for 2023/24

25 October 202310:00 - 13:00
7 February 202410:00 - 13:00
24 April 202410:00 - 13:00
26 June 202410:00 - 13:00

News and Updates

The Committee is currently involved in the following: the development of Learning and Teaching strategies to reflect the new University Strategy; the development of the Digital Learning Strategy; the implementation of Peer Observation policies; oversight of the Curriculum Management and Business Information Portal projects; implementation of the standardisation of module credit size; review of the assessment of the placement year, the policy for the recording of lectures and the assessment of student group work. 



The minutes of the most recent meetings can be found at the link below (staff login required):

Agendas, minutes, and papers from previous and future meetings can be found on the BlackBoard module for this committee. If you would like access to these papers, please contact the Quality Team who will enable the access permissions.

University Learning and Teaching Strategy

Quality Committees

College Learning and Teaching Committees

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the University Committee Webpages.