.

USEFUL CONTACTS

Aston University

 

The Hub 0121 204 4007      thehub@aston.ac.uk

Advice & Representation Centre                  0121 204 4848 arc@aston.ac.uk

Schools and Colleges Liaison 0121 204 4771 www.aston.ac.uk/schliaison

Open Days 0121 204 4771 www.aston.ac.uk/opendays

Connexions

Connexions provide guidance for 13-19 year olds and can advise on a variety of topics including careers. There are Connexions centres in most towns where you can drop in for further information. They also provide information on their website:

Main Connexions home page www.connexions.gov.uk

Connexions Direct www.connexions-direct.com

Birmingham & Solihull Connexions www.connexions-bs.co.uk

Aimhigher

Aimhigher has been developed to provide those contemplating entering HE with access to the necessary information from which to make effective decisions.� It hopes to enable prospective students to seek information about higher education institutions and courses, to offer advice and to help widen participation.

Aimhigher West Midlands www.aimhigherwm.org

UCAS

UCAS is the Universities and Colleges Admissions Scheme through which all students apply for their University course.

UCAS home page www.ucas.com

DfES

DfES (Department for Education and Skills) is the Government department responsible for Education in the UK.

Main DfES Home page (for students) www.dfes.gov.uk/studentsupport

Parents Guide www.parentcentre.gov.uk

Other

Merlin is a website which offers information for students about various aspects of University life. www.merlinhelpsstudents.com

The following link is direct to their parents section.

www.merlinhelpsstudents.com/parentsguide/parentsguide.asp

The following website is a guide for parents by the Government to various issues which may affect you or your child.

www.direct.gov.uk/Audiences/Parents/fs/en

 

Local Universities

Birmingham University 0121 414 3344 www.bham.ac.uk

Coventry University 024 7688 7688 www.coventry.ac.uk

Keele University 01782 621 111 www.keele.ac.uk

Staffordshire University 01782 294 000 www.staffs.ac.uk

University of Central England 0121 331 5000 www.uce.ac.uk

Warwick University 024 7652 3523 www.warwick.ac.uk

Wolverhampton University 01902 322 222 www.wlv.ac.uk

Colleges

Abbey College Birmingham 0121 236 7474 www.abbeycolleges.co.uk

Bournville College 0121 477 1300  www.bournville.ac.uk

Cadbury Sixth Form College 0121 458 3898 www.cadcol.ac.uk

City College 0121 204 0000    www.citycol.ac.uk

Birmingham College of Food, 0121 604 1000 www.bcftcs.ac.uk

Queen Alexandra College, 0121 428 5050 www.qac.ac.uk

Joseph Chamberlain Sixth Form College 0121 446 2200 www.jcc.ac.uk

Matthew Boulton College 0121 446 4545 www.matthew-boulton.ac.uk/

South Birmingham College 0121 694 5000 www.sbirmc.ac.uk/

Sutton Coldfield College 0121 355 5671 www.sutcol.ac.uk/

City of Wolverhampton College 01902 836 000 www.wolverhamptoncollege.ac.uk

City College Coventry 024 7679 1000 www.covcollege.ac.uk

 Halesowen College 0121 602 7777 www.halesowen.ac.uk/

Henley College 024 766 26300        www.henley-cov.ac.uk

Hereward College 024 7646 1231 www.hereward.ac.uk/

Sandwell College 0121 556 6000 www.sandwell.ac.uk/

Solihull College 0121 678 7001 www.solihull.ac.uk/

Solihull Sixth Form College 0121 704 2581 www.solihullsfc.ac.uk/

Stourbridge College 01384 344 344 http://www.stourbridge.ac.uk/

Walsall College of Arts and Technology 01922 657 000 www.walsallcollege.ac.uk

Employable Graduates; Exploitable Research