About us:

Staff & Graduate Development (S&GD) support members of University staff, teams, departments and PhD students with their personal, professional and career development. We work closely with Schools, departments and individuals to design and deliver training interventions, development programmes and formal qualifications, as well as providing professional development advice to individuals, managers and University leaders.  

Driven by the Human Resources strategy and Aston People 2020, the service we provide is broad and includes: Leadership and management development; Team interventiont; Coaching and mentoring support; Personal skills development; Supporting research; IT training; Staff volunteering scheme; Erasmus staff mobility scheme.

Meet our team:

Peter Lakeland

Staff & Graduate Development Manager
Email: p.j.lakeland@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4605

Main responsibilities: Department Manager, Professional Development funding


Neil Ladwa

Professional Development Advisor
Email: n.ladwa1@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4610

Main responsibilities: Course facilitator and advisor for management and personal development training


Sarah Hosten

Assistant Professional Development Advisor
Email: s.j.hosten@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4607

Main responsibilities: General enquiries, supporting research,
Room bookings, Staff Volunteering, Wellbeing activities


To contact us (for general inquiries):

Email: staffdevelopment@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4598
Drop in: Staff & Graduate Development, Main Building, Room MB728.

Patrick Buckley

Professional Development Advisor
Email: p.j.buckley@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4601

Main responsibilities: Course facilitator and advisor for management and personal development training


David Peel

IT Training and Development Advisor
Email: d.peel@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4604

Main responsibilities: Course facilitator and advisor for IT training


Jeanette Lilley

Professional Development Advisor    
Email: j.lilley@aston.ac.uk
Telephone: 0121 204 4609

Main responsibilities: Researcher development and opportunities for ECRs, PhD students and research staff