.

Human Resources - Contacts

As a result of our move to the 7th floor and due to the confidential nature of our work, please note that, unless requested otherwise, all visitors to Human Resources and Pensions are asked to gain access via the main HR Reception Desk.  Please use ‘D’ lift to floor 7, or the sky lifts, red to floor 7, blue to South Wing floor 10, to bring you to the front door to HR MB716.

General HR enquiries HR_helpdesk@aston.ac.uk or HR Helpdesk +44 (0)121-204-4500 for a response within two working days
recruitment@aston.ac.uk (email address for all job enquiries)
hera@aston.ac.uk (email address for all hera enquiries)
hradvisors@aston.ac.uk (generic email address for HR Advisors)


Contact Address

Human Resources,
Room MB 716,
Aston University, Aston Triangle,
Birmingham, B4 7ET

 

HR Fax: +44 (0)121 204 4614         

Main Switchboard: +44 (0)121 204 3000

HR Structure Chart (updated version available soon)

    HR MANAGEMENT

 
Ann Hartley
(Acting) Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development
Ext 4606
a.p.hartley@aston.ac.uk

Responsible for the delivery of Human Resource Management and Organisational Development within the University. 

Jane Farrell
Associate Director of HR 
Ext 4595
j.f.farrell@aston.ac.uk

Responsibility for delivering the HR Advisory Services for Support Departments, Recruitment and Occupational Health

Claire Freeman
Associate Director of HR – Academic Schools
Ext 4571
c.e.freeman@aston.ac.uk 

Responsibility for delivering the HR Advisory Services to the Schools and academic-related areas (CLIPP & REO).  

Chris Phillips
HR Operations & Systems Manager 
Ext 4593
c.j.phillips1@aston.ac.uk 
This role oversees the essential functions of HR Systems and Payroll, interfacing closely with HR colleagues to provide a “seamless service” focussed on the needs of the customer.

HR BUSINESS PARTNERS

Sarah Carey
HR Business Partner
(Works Mon - Wed)
Ext 4581
s.j.carey@aston.ac.uk  

HR advice to LHS, AMS, CLIPP and  Careers and Placements. Sarah is located in MB621d LHS. 

Deborah Walker                        
HR Business Partner
(Works Tues - Fri)
Ext 4596
d.walker1@aston.ac.uk

HR advice to LHS, AMS, CLIPP and  Careers and Placements. Deborah is located in MB621d LHS. 
Stephen Belt
HR Business Partner
Ext 5128
s.belt@aston.ac.uk

HR advice to ABS, REO, DARO and Marketing, currently located in the Nelson Building, 6th Floor. 
Christine Campbell
HR Business Partner  
(Works Tues - Thurs)
Ext 4586
c.m.campbell@aston.ac.uk 

HR advice to LSS, CFO areas, Registry, The Hub, International Office, Schools and Colleges Liaison and the DVC office. Christine is located in room MB728.
Samantha Russell
HR Business Partner
Ext 4576 
s.russell1@aston.ac.uk

HR advice to LSS, CFO areas, Registry, The Hub, International Office, Schools and College's Liaison and the DVC office.  Located in MB728.

Joanne Elsmore
HR Business Partner 
Ext 3908
j.elsmore@aston.ac.uk

HR advice to EAS.  Based in EAS School Centre MB133. 

Anne-Marie Lokwiya
HR Business Partner 
Ext 5385
a.lokwiya@aston.ac.uk 

HR advice to the COE areas, excluding the Hub. Located in MB728.

HR OPERATIONS

Barbara Power 
Office Manager/PA to the Director of HR  
and Organisational Development  
Ext 4583 
b.a.power@aston.ac.uk

Office Manager/Personal Assistant to the Director of HR and Organisational Development.  Contact for the Employee Travel Pass Scheme and office administration.
Mandeep Chandhok
Customer Services Advisor
Ext 4699
m.chandhok@aston.ac.uk

Principle contact for customer queries received through the HR Helpdesk email or telephone and visitors to the department.

Systems Team:

 
Jason Price 
HR Systems and Information Specialist
Ext 4580
j.price1@aston.ac.uk  
 

Supports the HR Operations & Systems Manager with the operation and maintenance of the HR and Payroll System, the Online Recruitment System and other HR systems including the provision of Business Objects reports.  

Denise Jackson
HR Systems Administrator
Ext 4600
d.jackson@aston.ac.uk 

Supports the HR Systems Manager, carries out training and for HR systems.
Yasmin Pradhan
HR Information Analyst
Ext 4986
y.pradhan@aston.ac.uk

Supports the HR Systems Manager with the provision of Business Objects reports.

Administrative Team:

 

Merissa James
HR Administrator
Ext 4591
m.l.james@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.   Admin contact for:  ABS & EAS.                

Anthony Madarani
HR Administrator
Ext 4280  
a.madarani@aston.ac.uk

Paul Brown
HR Administrator
Ext 5048
p.brown4@aston.ac.uk
To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.   Admin contact for:  LSS, LHS & AMS, VC, PVC/DVC, Marketing, Dev & Alumni, REO, CLIPP, HR, H&S, Legal.
    

Sarah Taylor
HR Administrator
Ext 4573
s.l.taylor@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.  Admin contact for:  all remaining support areas.   

 

Recruitment Team:

 
Stephanie Norman                   
HR Recruitment Partner 
(Works Mon - Wed)
Ext 4306 
s.norman1@aston.ac.uk

Caroline O'Gorman 
HR Recruitment Partner 
(Works Wed - Fri)
Ext 4053 
c.ogorman@aston.ac.uk 


Harinder Bhachu 
Recruitment Administrator
Ext 4280
h.bhachu@aston.ac.uk

Karen Clinton 
Recruitment Administrator  
Ext 3351
k.clinton@aston.ac.uk 

Grace Ntamirira
Recruitment Administrator
Ext 3323
g.ntamirira@aston.ac.uk


To provide effective and efficient administrative support for recruitment across the whole of the University, working closely with the HR Business Partners.  This includes: advertising, interviews, contracts, certificates of sponsorship, medicals, expenses and relocation.