.

Human Resources - Contacts

As a result of our move to the 7th floor and due to the confidential nature of our work, please note that, unless requested otherwise, all visitors to Human Resources and Pensions are asked to gain access via the main HR Reception Desk.  Please use ‘D’ lift to floor 7, or the sky lifts, red to floor 7, blue to South Wing floor 10, to bring you to the front door to HR MB716.

General HR enquiries HR_helpdesk@aston.ac.uk or HR Helpdesk +44 (0)121-204-4500 for a response within two working days
recruitment@aston.ac.uk (email address for all job enquiries)
hera@aston.ac.uk (email address for all hera enquiries)
hradvisors@aston.ac.uk (generic email address for HR Advisors)


Contact Address

Human Resources,
Room MB 716,
Aston University, Aston Triangle,
Birmingham, B4 7ET

 


HR Fax: +44 (0)121 204 4614        
Main Switchboard: +44 (0)121 204 3000

HR Structure Chart (updated version available soon)

    HR DIRECTORS

 Ann Hartley
(Acting) Director of Human Resources and Organisational Development
Ext 4606
a.p.hartley@aston.ac.uk

Responsible for the delivery of Human Resource Management and Organisational Development within the University. 

Jane Farrell
Associate Director of HR 
Ext 4595
j.f.farrell@aston.ac.uk

Responsibility for delivering the HR Advisory Services for Support Departments, Recruitment and Occupational Health

Claire Freeman
Associate Director of HR – Academic Schools
Ext 4571
c.e.freeman@aston.ac.uk 

Responsibility for delivering the HR Advisory Services to the Schools and academic-related areas (CLIPP & REO).  

HR BUSINESS PARTNERS

Sarah Carey
HR Business Partner
(Works Mon - Wed)
Ext 4581
s.j.carey@aston.ac.uk  

HR advice to LHS, AMS, CLIPP, REO and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor areas.  Sarah is located in MB621d LHS.  Cover in the absence of Deborah Walker is provided by Stephanie Norman, Christine Campbell or Heather Eden.

Deborah Walker                        
HR Business Partner
(Works Tues - Fri)
Ext 4596
d.walker1@aston.ac.uk

HR advice to LHS, AMS, CLIPP, REO and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor areas. Deborah is located in MB621d LHS.   Cover in the absence of Sarah Carey is provided by Stephanie Norman, Christine Campbell or Heather Eden.

Stephanie Norman                   
HR Business Partner 
(Works Mon - Wed)
Ext 4306 
s.norman1@aston.ac.uk

Principal contact for ABS.  HR advice to ABS, LSS, CFO areas, Marketing & Dev & Alumni.  Stephanie is located on the 6th Floor, Central Office, Aston Business School Building.  Cover provided by other HR Business Partners based on availability.

Christine Campbell
HR Business Partner  
(Works Tues - Thurs)
Ext 4586
c.m.campbell@aston.ac.uk 

Principal contact for LSS.  HR advice to LSS, ABS, CFO areas, Marketing & Dev & Alumni.  Christine is located in room MB728.  Cover provided by other HR Business Partners based on availability.

Heather Eden
HR Business Partner
(Works Wed - Fri)
 
Ext 4576 
h.eden@aston.ac.uk

Principal contact for CFO areas.  HR advice to CFO areas, Marketing & Dev & Alumni, LSS, ABS. Located in MB728.  Cover provided by other HR Business Partners based on availability.

Caroline O'Gorman
HR Business Partner
Ext 4053
c.ogorman@aston.ac.uk 

Principal contact for EAS.  Provides cover to COE areas in the absence of Anne-Marie Lokwiya. Based in EAS School Centre MB133.  

Anne-Marie Lokwiya
HR Business Partner 
Ext 5385
a.lokwiya@aston.ac.uk 

Principal contact for the COE areas.  Provides cover to EAS in the absence of Caroline O'Gorman. Located in MB728.

HR OPERATIONS

Barbara Power 
Office Manager/PA to the Director of HR  
and Organisational Development  
Ext 4583 
b.a.power@aston.ac.uk

Office Manager/Personal Assistant to the Director of HR and Organisational Development.  Responsible for the maintenance of HR web pages and communication, the Employee Travel Pass Scheme and office administration.

Systems Team:

 

Chris Phillips
HR Operations & Systems Manager
Ext 4593
c.j.phillips1@aston.ac.uk 

This role oversees the essential functions of HR Systems and Payroll, interfacing closely with HR colleagues to provide a “seamless service” focussed on the needs of the customer.

Jason Price 
HR Systems and Information Specialist
Ext 4580
j.price1@aston.ac.uk  
 

Supports the HR Operations & Systems Manager with the operation and maintenance of the HR and Payroll System, the Online Recruitment System and other HR systems including the provision of Business Objects reports.  

Mohammed Younis 
HR Information Analyst
Ext 5051
m.younis@aston.ac.uk

The role of the HR Information Analyst is to provide and analyse all HR information to inform the University’s workforce plans.   In particular, the post holder will develop, promote and implement the University’s commitment to equal opportunities, cultural awareness and widening access, and progress the University’s equality & diversity agenda. 

HR Systems Administrator / OD Administrator
Denise Jackson
Ext 4600
d.jackson@aston.ac.uk 


Supports the HR Systems Manager with the provision of Business Objects reports, carries out training and support for HR systems.
Organisation Development contact for general inquiries, supporting research, OD room bookings, staff volunteering, wellbeing activites.

Administrative Team:

 

Merissa James
HR Administrator
Ext 4591
m.l.james@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.   Admin contact for:  ABS & EAS.                

Anthony Madarani
HR Administrator
Ext 4280  
a.madarani@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.   Admin contact for:  LSS, LHS & AMS, VC, PVC/DVC, Marketing, Dev & Alumni, REO, CLIPP, HR, H&S, Legal.
    

Sarah Taylor
HR Administrator
Ext 4573
s.l.taylor@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support and advice for a wide range of personnel procedures and processes related to employees. These include: on-boarding new staff, probation, monitoring fixed term contracts, sickness absence, annual increments, allowance and honoraria, contract changes, casual staff processing, maintaining employee records in Core and personal employee files.  Admin contact for:  all remaining support areas.   

 

Recruitment Team:

 
Harinder Bhachu (Works Mon-Wed, Fri)
Recruitment Administrator
Ext 4280
h.bhachu@aston.ac.uk

To provide effective and efficient administrative support for recruitment across the whole of the University, working closely with the HR Business Partners.  This includes: advertising, interviews, contracts, certificates of sponsorship, medicals, expenses and relocation.

Elizabeth Gibbons-Jackson
Recruitment Administrator (Interim)
Ext 4056 
t-gobbonse@aston.ac.uk  

To provide effective and efficient administrative support for recruitment across the whole of the University, working closely with the HR Business Partners.  This includes: advertising, interviews, contracts, certificates of sponsorship, medicals, expenses and relocation.