.

Brexit Directory

As the Brexit story continues to unfold, we've created a directory made up of experts from Aston University who would all be happy to comment on any further developments.

Please find each expert's details below and don't hesitate to call the press office on 0121 204 4592 or 07557 289976 if you would like to speak to them. 

Industry & Manufacturing

Professor David Bailey - Professor of Industrial Strategy at Aston Business School 

David can comment on:

  • The implications of Brexit on the car manufacturing sector in both the West Midlands and the UK as a whole
  • What Brexit might mean for industrial policy in the UK
  • The uncertainty of foreign investment inflows post-Brexit
  • The nature of a trade relationship with other countries post-Brexit 

EMAIL: d.bailey@aston.ac.uk

Professor Edward Sweeney - Professor of Logistics at Aston University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences

Edward can comment on: 

  • The implications of Brexit on business supply chains
  • The impact that Brexit is having on the way businesses are being run logistically 
  • The way that both the Irish and UK business landscapes will look post-Brexit (Ed is Irish himself) 

EMAIL: e.sweeney@aston.ac.uk  

Professor Heiner Evanschitzky - Professor of Marketing at Aston Business School

Heiner can comment on:

  • The implications of Brexit on the UK retail sector

EMAIL: h.evanschitzky@aston.ac.uk

UK Politics

Dr Martin Brenncke - Lecturer in Law at Aston Law School

Martin can comment on: 

  • All aspects of the impact of Brexit on EU law 
  • The way the UK’s relationship with the EU member countries is likely to change post-Brexit 

EMAIL: m.brenncke@aston.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Glencross - Senior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations at Aston University’s School of Languages and Social Sciences 

Andrew can comment on: 

  • What everyday life in the UK looks like once it leaves the EU
  • All aspects of the initial referendum and any further votes on the UK’s EU membership (both by the public and MPs)
  • The implications of Brexit on future relations between the UK and the 27 EU countries

EMAIL: a.glencross@aston.ac.uk  

Professor Simon Green - Professor of Politics and Pro-Vice Chancellor of Research 

Simon can comment on: 

  • All aspects of British politics and its handling of Brexit
  • The impact that Brexit is likely to have on the UK’s relationship with other European governments
  • Brexit’s impact on immigration, integration and citizenship policy
  • The German governments view on Brexit

EMAIL: s.o.green@aston.ac.uk

Security

Dr Helena Farrand-Carrapico - Senior Lecturer in Politics & International Relations at Aston University’s School of Languages and Social Sciences

Helena can comment on: 

  • The implications of Brexit on national security 
  • What Brexit means for the future UK-EU security agreement
  • Possible security ‘blind spots’ which could arise in post-Brexit Britain

EMAIL: h.farrand-carrapico@aston.ac.uk

European Politics

Dr Caroline Gray - Lecturer in Politics and Spanish at Aston University’s School of Languages and Social Sciences  

Caroline can comment on:

  • The view of Brexit in Spanish politics
  • The way that Brexit is likely to affect the relationship between the UK and Spain going forward
  • The implications of Brexit on Gibraltar 

EMAIL: c.gray1@aston.ac.uk

Dr Brian Sudlow - Lecturer in French at Aston University’s School of Languages and Social Sciences 

Brian can comment on:

  • The UK’s ongoing cultural relationships and exchanges with France
  • The French political view of Brexit 
  • Pharmaceuticals & Medicines 

EMAIL: b.sudlow@aston.ac.uk 

Dr Ian Maidment - Reader in Clinical Pharmacy at Aston University’s School of Life and Health Sciences 

Ian can comment on:

  • How the UK’s supply of medicines may be affected by Brexit
  • Matters concerning The European Medicines Agency (EMA) 
  • The implications of Brexit on projects such as Horizon 2020 which are funded by Europe 

EMAIL: i.maidment@aston.ac.uk

Entertainment Industries

Dr Patrycja Rozbicka - Lecturer in Politics and International Relations at Aston University’s School of Languages and Social Sciences

Patrycja can comment on:

  • The effects of Brexit on the live music industry
  • The impact of Brexit on interest groups 

EMAIL: p.rozbicka@aston.ac.uk

Finance & Economics

George Salijeni - Lecturer in Accounting at Aston Business School

George can comment on: 

  • The impact that Brexit could have on the accounting profession
  • The implications of Brexit on financial planning 

EMAIL: g.salijeni@aston.ac.uk

Colin Chapman - Personal Finance Expert and Associate Dean of Aston Business School

Colin can comment on:

  • The impact that Brexit could have on personal finance (e.g. pensions, mortgages, loans and savings)

EMAIL: c.chapman1@aston.ac.uk

Dr Agelos Delis - Lecturer in Economics at Aston Business School 

Agelos can comment on:

  • The likely impact of Brexit on international trade 
  • The effect of Brexit on UK exports/imports
  • Future trade agreements with other countries post-Brexit

EMAIL: a.delis@aston.ac.uk