.

Current Research Students

Our School currently has over 50 research students and you can find a selection of their profiles below.


Nadia Abiatico
abiaticn@aston.ac.uk
Multimodality in Public Discourse: Combining Linguistic, Vocal and Visual Analyses

Tasneema Amanee
amaneeta@aston.ac.uk
Street Harassment: The Case of Bangladesh

George Amakor
amakorg@aston.ac.uk
Unmarried Teenage Mothers in South Eastern Nigeria: Attitudes and Experiences

Shahreen Bashir
bashirs6@aston.ac.uk

Céline Benoit
benocfy9@aston.ac.uk
Religion in Primary School

Claudine Borg
borgc@aston.ac.uk
A literary translation in the making: investigating in-depth the process and product of a literary translation from French into Maltese

Emily Carmody   
carmodye@aston.ac.uk
Online Child Sexual Abuse Interactions: Moves and Genres

Cynthia Caswell  
caswelca@aston.ac.uk
Programme Design and Professional Outcomes in MA TESOL Teacher Education    

Luke Davies
daviesl3@aston.ac.uk
Wolf Pups in Sheep’s Clothing: Youth Wings, MP Recruitment and the Gentrification of Social Democratic Parties in Western Europe. 

Said Dirie
diriesd@aston.ac.uk
The Market of Languages in the Horn of Africa
  
James Essex
essexj@aston.ac.uk   
Hey Sensei! When you talk with me, could you speak with an American accent? Yer British accent is kinda weird: A quantitative and qualitative study 

Paul Gorman
p.gorman@aston.ac.uk
Are undergraduate students co-producers or consumers of knowledge? A critical examination of pedagogy and power at two UK universities over a three year period

Silvia Grant
magliosf@aston.ac.uk
Explaining NATO’s Post-Cold War Development Through A Compound Realist Perspective: A Comparative Case Study

Cristina Greco

grecoc2@aston.ac.uk
Words of Honour: A Sociolinguistic Study of Language in Mafia Internal Communication

Liubov Green
greenl6@aston.ac.uk
The role of the courtroom interpreter in the legal system of England and Wales using the approach and paradigm of Social Constructionism

Michael Hamer 
hamerm@aston.ac.uk
Augmented Reality as eLearning Innovation from a learners perspective
 

Annina Heini
heiniab@aston.ac.uk
A Comparative Study of Police Interview Discourse in Investigative Interviews with 17 and 18 Year Old Suspects in England and Wales 

Lucy Jenkins
l.m.jenkins@aston.ac.uk
An analysis of student perceptions of plagiarism: a longitudinal study

Hulya Kocagul
kocagulh@aston.ac.uk
Authorship Identification Through Linguistic Stylistic For Forensic Purposes

Vlad Mackevic    

Timothy Moritoshi
moritotp@aston.ac.uk
Integrating project-based learning in Japanese universities and colleges 

Somjet Muangpan
muangpas@aston.ac.uk   
Development and Evaluation of an English Teacher Training Course Using Local Cultural Cooperative Task-Based Instruction (LCCTBI) and Effects of the Course Application with Thai

Katherine Osgood
osgoodk@aston.ac.uk
Translation, Gender, and Empire: Women Arabic Translators in Victorian Britain 

Konstantinos Plisiotis
plisiotk@aston.ac.uk
Greece in Translation: Rewriting nation in translated texts on tourism and culture

Antonio Sergio
ribeiras@aston.ac.uk 
Are the monetary interventions of the European Central Bank, the Fiscal Compact and the economic adjustment in Southern Europe turning the Eurozone into an Optimum Currency Area? 

Kelly-mae Saville
savillkm@aston.ac.uk
Mothering Children with Dwarfism in an Age of Bio- Technological Advances; An exploration into the (Non) Mythical

Amy Simmons   

simmoal1@aston.ac.uk
A Semi-Autoethnographic Qualitative Investigation Into Autistic Individuals’ Educational Experiences

Richard Silver 
silverra@aston.ac.uk
Teacher beliefs and learner autonomy

Victoria Whittaker 
whittavj@aston.ac.uk
Individual food choices: allotments within 'alternative' and 'ethical' food consumption and production   

Malgorzata Wootton
woottom2@aston.ac.uk
Migration and National Identity in Transnational Social Spaces - Comparative Study between post-WW2 and post-Cold War Migration from Poland to the UK
 
Elvis Yevudey
yevudeye@aston.ac.uk
Bilingual practices in Ghanaian Primary Schools: Implications for curriculum design and educational practice