Esteem Contributions 

ACE Esteem contributions
When ACE was set up, the Co-directors were aware that esteem factors constituted an important element of the Centre’s reputation, and that peer esteem lent added value to the ACE environment. Our aim at ACE has always been to generate high quality research that has a practical application for research users. For that reason, the work of ACE staff is appreciated not only within the worldwide academic community, but also in UK, EU and international policy circles as well as the media. The following examples of the work of our staff provide a flavour of the esteem in which ACE is held. 

Simon Green was Chair of the International Association for the Study of German Politics, 2009-11, and Co-chair of UK-German Connection (2006-2010). He briefed the German Federal Presidential Office on migration (2012); and was elected to the Academy of Social Sciences in 2011. He has been an invited delegate at the high-level British-German Königswinter conference in every year of this census period. During this period, Professor William Paterson also served as a member of its steering committee.

John Gaffney was Vice-President of the Association of University Professors of French Studies (2007-2010, President 2004-07); a UK Political Studies Association, Panel Judge for Best Book (2009); and an American Political Science Association, Panel Judge for Best Article in French Politics (2011). He gave the keynote address in 2013 to a joint meeting of the UK’s Royal College of Defence Studies and the French Centre des Hautes Etudes Militaires. He is also a Visiting Professor at Sciences Po Rennes, and at Sciences Po Lille.

Nat Copsey led an ACE team (Gaffney, Green, Rowe and Turner) to brief the Shadow Europe Minister, Emma Reynolds MP, in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He has held Visiting Fellowships with the Polish Academy of Sciences, the Polish Institute of Political Affairs; the Polish Institute of International Affairs; SSEES-University College London, Sussex European Institute, and the University of Helsinki. He is Visiting Professor at Sciences Po Rennes, the College of Europe, and MGIMO in Moscow. In 2013, he was awarded a Jean Monnet Chair. He took part in the EU review of competences at the FCO, and regular seminars on the European Neighbourhood Policy. He has briefed outgoing UK ambassadors to Poland and advised the Swedish International Development Agency (Sida, 2008–) on assistance for EU integration-related governance reforms in Ukraine, and advised the Polish Ministry of Regional Development (2012). He has briefed officials from HM Treasury (January 2011) on strategies for influencing EU politics. Copseyand Gaffney are also Members of the ESRC Peer Review College. Rowe and Copsey provided advice on EU foreign policy to the Committee of the Regions of the EU (2010–14).

Carolyn Rowe has co-organised the EU-funded ‘Bringing the Policy Back In’ Conference in Birmingham in 2009 (the keynote speaker was the Vice President of the European Commission) and the Aston New EU Agenda series of conferences which was co-funded by European Commission representation in London. 

Ed Turner provides regular briefings to Government agencies and shadow ministers on housing and planning issues. He has given seminars to senior visiting Chinese and Thai public servants on British local government. He is a member of the Local Government Association’s Environment and Housing Board.

David Bailey is a Specialist Advisor to the House of Commons Select Committee on the West Midlands, (2009), has given evidence to a number of Select Committees and All Party Parliamentary Groups. He is a frequent speaker and chair at the DG Regional Policy Open Days at the European Commission (2008-2013). He holds Visiting professorships and research posts at the Singapore Institute of Management (2013), the Ecole Supérieure de Commerce, Clermont (2009-2010), the University of Bologna (2005-2010), and the University of Western Bohemia (2006-2008). He has twice been Chair of the Regional Studies Association (RSA) (2006-2012); is now  RSA Honorary Vice-Chair, and was elected member of the Regional Science Association International British & Irish Section Committee (2013-). He was elected to the Academy of Social Sciences in 2008; was an FP7 Expert Evaluator and Moderator for the European Commission (2007-2008), and an External Evaluator for the European Court of Auditors (2009-10).

Jelena Obradovic-Wochnik: (ECR) held a Visiting research fellowship at the European Union Institute for Security Studies, Paris (2008), Helsinki University (2012), and in 2012, she was a Visiting Scholar at Harvard.

Lucian Leustean was awarded The George Blazyca Prize in East European Studies by the British Association for Slavonic and East European Studies (2010), and received the University Award for Outstanding Early Career Researcher (2012).