.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity in the School of Life & Health Sciences

Athena Swan

The School of Life & Health Sciences is continually striving to provide a working environment which allows all staff and students to develop professionally and achieve their career aspirations.

We recognise the importance of the equality of opportunity and the participation of women at all levels.

The School is committed to the Athena SWAN Charter for women in science, an initiative for the advancement of women's careers in higher education and research.

We hold the Athena SWAN Bronze award which was renewed in April 2014.

The School’s Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity Committee is in place to ensure that:

  • We advocate and support the principles of equality for all students and staff at all stages of their career; 
  • We aim to tackle the under-representation of women in science by changing cultures and attitudes through the Athena SWAN framework,
  • And, through our business, partnerships and engagement, we promote good practice and a culture of equality in higher education.


The Equality, Diversity and Inclusivity Committee
 Name  Role  Area  Telephone Email 
Lizzie Bartlam Dispensing Instructor Optometry 0121
204 4104 
e.a.bartlam@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Hannah Bartlett  Senior Lecturer  Optometry 0121
204 4182
h.e.bartlett@aston.ac.uk 
Professor Robert Berry Athena SWAN Advisor  SEAS 0121
204 3660
robert.berry@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Irundika Dias Post Doctoral Research Fellow Biology  0121
204 3947
h.k.i.dias1@aston.ac.uk
Raja Farah PhD Student Biology   rajafns@aston.ac.uk
Wayne Fleary Biosciences/Biomedical Technician Biology 0121
204 3958
w.a.fleary@aston.ac.uk
Claire George Audiology Skills Laboratory Support Officer  Audiology   0121
204 5012
c.george@aston.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Hewitt Professor and Executive Dean  LHS 0121
204 4949 
c.j.hewitt@aston.ac.uk
Dr Olivia Hunt SFHEA  Principal Clinician Optometry 0121
204 4143
 o.a.hunt@aston.ac.uk
Trevor Knight Head of Administration & QA LHS 0121
204 3968 
t.knight@aston.ac.uk
Dr Ian Maidment Senior Lecturer Pharmacy 0121
204 3002
i.maidment@aston.ac.uk
Dr Liz Moores PFHEA Reader, AD Taught Programmes Psychology 0121
204 4070 
e.j.moores@aston.ac.uk
Dr Shehzad Naroo Reader  Optometry 0121
204 4132 
s.a.naroo@aston.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Pitt Professor
Pharmacy  0121 
204 3005
a.r.pitt@aston.ac.uk
Dr Nathan Ridout Lecturer Psychology 0121
204 4162
n.ridout@aston.ac.uk
Dr Steven Russell  Teaching Fellow Biology  0121
204 4005
s.t.russell1@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Carl Senior PFHEA Reader, AD Learning & Teaching Psychology 0121
204 4068
c.senior@aston.ac.uk
Jane Tyrrell Associate Director Human Resources 0121 
204 4587
j.m.tyrrell@aston.ac.uk 
Dr Zhuo Wang  Lecturer Biology 0121
204 4191 
wangz8@aston.ac.uk
Anne Young Student Recruitment & Business Support Manager LHS 0121 
204 4184
a.young@aston.ac.uk
Mohammed Younis Equality & Diversity Analyst  Human Resources 0121
204 5051
m.younis@aston.ac.uk