Aston University Graduate School contacts

Head of the Aston University Graduate School

Professor Martin Griffin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Rita Woods, PA to Pro-Vice-Chancellor

Graduate Development Team

For advice and support on research student training and development:

Peter Lakeland      Manager of Staff and Graduate Development
Telephone:             0121 204 4605 

Sarah Hosten        Assistant Professional Development Advisor, Staff and Graduate Development
Telephone:             0121 204 4607 

Darian Brookes     IP Business Development Manager, Business Partnership Unit
Telephone:             0121 204 4257 

Ellen Pope              Head of the Learning Development Centre, Learning Development Centre
Telephone:              0121 204 3311

Sally Puzey             Head of Research Support Office, Research Support Office
Telephone:             0121 204 4243

Angela Brady         Assistant Director, Library & Information Services
Telephone:             0121 204 4505

Registry Contacts

For advice on making an application or enrolling at Aston

Julie Adams        Assistant Registrar
Telephone:          0121 204 4664

For advice on regulatory matters relating to doctoral programmes (PhD, MPhil, Professional Doctorates)

Alison Birch        Assistant Registrar, Graduate School, and Secretary to Graduate School Management Committee
Telephone:         0121 204 4653


For Advice on Research Ethics:

John Walter         Director of Governance, Secretary to Senate and Council
Telephone:           0121 204 4869

IT support for research

Trevor Bayliss     Network Services Manager - ISA
Telephone:           0121 204 4430

Subject Area Contacts

For information on the advice, support and services provided to research students by individual subject areas:

Aston Business School

Elizabeth Bridges            Research Degrees Programme (RDP) Manager
Telephone:                        0121 204 4974

Jeanette Ikuomola
          PhD/MSc Administrator
Telephone:                        0121 204 3219

Ranjit Judge 
                    RDP Thesis and DBA Administrator
Telephone:                        0121 204 3354

Irene Vickers                    PhD/MSc Clerical Assistant
Telephone:                        0121 204 3170

Dr Nathaniel Golden       Research Support Office (RSO)
Telephone:                        0121 204 4565

School of Engineering and Applied Science

Susan Doughty               Research Administration Officer and Secretary, School Research Ethics Committee
Telephone:                       0121 204 3665

Sandra Mosley                Research Student Administrator - Student Support
Telephone:                       0121 204 3513

Helen Yard                       Academic Support Administrator - Team Leader
Telephone:                       0121 204 3547

Prof Alison Hodge          Associate Dean for Research
Telephone:                       0121 204 3047

Dr Louise Knight            Director of Research Degree Programmes                                                                                                         Telephone:                       0121 204 3605                              

School of Languages and Social Sciences

Dan Thomson                   Research Manager, School of Languages and Social Sciences
Telephone:                       0121 204 3972

Dr Jack Grieve                 Director of Research Degree Programmes
Telephone:                       0121 204 3784

Dr Anton Popov               Chair of the School Research Ethics Committee                                                                                              
Telephone:                       0121 204 4990

Dr Nathaniel Golden         Research Support Office (RSO)      
Telephone:                       0121 204 4565    

School of Life and Health Sciences

Gill Pilfold                         Senior Research Administrator
Telephone:                       0121 204 3880

Julie Taylor                      Research Admissions Administrator
Claire Farrell                    Research Administrator (Student Support)
Dr Karen Woodhall          Research Support Office (RSO)
Dr Corinne Spickett         Chair of the School Research Ethics Committee 










Employable Graduates; Exploitable Research