Graduate School Management Committee

The Graduate School Management Committee considers and makes recommendations concerning the regulation, assurance and enhancement of the quality and standards of research degree programmes, including the supervision, training and examination of postgraduate research students.

Graduate School Management Committee Terms of Reference

Membership 2014/15

 Role Member
Chair Professor Martin Griffin, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research & Head of Aston University Graduate School  

Academic Representative from each School


Co-opted: a representative of professional doctorate programmes

Professor Julia Kotlarsky, Aston Business School
Professor Tim Meese, Life & Health Sciences  
Dr Emmanuelle Labeau, Languages & Social Sciences    
Dr Louise Knight, Engineering & Applied Science  

Dr Amy Sheppard, Life and Health Sciences (until 31 July 2015)    


Research Student Representatives

Miss Ruoying Zhou, Aston Business School 

Miss Jane Pennifold, Life & Health Sciences                

Mr Yordan Raykov, Engineering & Applied Science 

Miss Shahreen Bashir, Languages & Social Sciences 

President of Aston Postgraduate Research Society Ms Sally Eaves (President)  
Manager of Staff and Graduate Development Mr Peter Lakeland  
Postgraduate Careers Consultant Mr Alex Carroll  
Chair of Research Administration Forum Dr Elizabeth Bridges, Aston Business School  
Secretary Ms Alison Birch, Registry  

Excellent Different Distinctive