.
Quality Identifier Small

Learning and Teaching Committee (LTC)

About

Purpose of the committee:

To develop, enable and evaluate the implementation of the University Strategy for Learning and Teaching.  To consider and make recommendations on the enhancement of the quality and standards of taught programmes and of the student learning experience.

Reports to:

Senate

Committees and Groups that report to this Committee

Operational Learning and Teaching Committee

Membership and Terms of Reference

You can find a full list of members in the Membership List document below, or you can view the members by area in the table further down this page.

You can find more detailed information about this committee in the Terms of Reference below:

Chair and Secretary

   Name  Email
 Chair  Professor Helen Higson  helen.higson@aston.ac.uk
 Secretary  Sarah Davies  s.j.davies@aston.ac.uk


Membership by Area Represented

 Area Represented  Member  Email
 Admissions Forum (UG and PGT)  Dr Liz Moores  e.j.moores@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School  Vacant  
 Aston Business School (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Simon Finley  s.finley@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Business School (Academic Staff)  Colin Chapman  c.chapman1@aston.ac.uk
 Aston Medical School (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Professor Helen Cameron  helen.cameron@aston.ac.uk
 Centre for Learning Innovation and Professional Practice (CLIPP)  Professor Frank Eperjesi  f.eperjesi@aston.ac.uk
 Collaborative Provision Strategy Group (CPSG)  Dr Fiona Lacey  f.m.lacey@aston.ac.uk
 Employability Strategy Group (ESG)  Etta Parkes  e.l.parkes1@aston.ac.uk
 Human Resources  Claire Freeman  c.e.freeman@aston.ac.uk
 Information Services  Jeremy Batt  j.p.batt@aston.ac.uk
 Learning Development Centre (LDC)  Ellen Pope  e.l.pope@aston.ac.uk
 Learning and Teaching Information Strategy Committee  David Farrow  david.farrow@aston.ac.uk
 Learning Technologies Management Group  Chris Wilson  c.j.wilson@aston.ac.uk
 Library and IT Planning and Engagement Group  Chris Wanley  chris.wanley@aston.ac.uk
 Library Services  Angela Brady  a.e.brady@aston.ac.uk
 Programme Approval Steering Committee (PASC)  Dr Carol Marley  c.n.marley@aston.ac.uk
 Quality Assurance and Quality Enhancement  Sarah Davies  s.j.davies@aston.ac.uk
 Regulation Sub-Committee (RSC)  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science  Dr Trevor Oliver  t.n.oliver@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Sylvia Wong  s.h.s.wong@aston.ac.uk
 School of Engineering and Applied Science (Academic Staff)  Dr Aniko Ekart  a.ekart@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences  Dr Virginie Grzelczyk  v.grzelczyk@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Raquel Fernandez-Sanchez  r.fernandez-sanchez@aston.ac.uk
 School of Languages and Social Sciences (Academic Staff)  Elisabeth Wielander  e.wielander@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences  Dr Liz Moores  e.j.moores@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences (School Learning and Teaching Committee)  Dr Ann Vernallis  a.b.vernallis@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences (Academic Staff)  Professor Chris Langley  c.a.langley@aston.ac.uk
 School of Life and Health Sciences (Academic Staff)  Professor James Wolffsohn  j.s.w.wolffsohn@aston.ac.uk
 Strategic Timetabling and Learning Spaces Committee  Professor James Wolffsohn  j.s.w.wolffsohn@aston.ac.uk
 Student and Academic Services  Alison Levey  a.levey@aston.ac.uk
 Student Representative (UG)  Vacant  
 Student Representative (PGT)  Vacant  
 Student Representative PG Cert in Learning an Teaching  Katrina Jones  k.jones10@aston.ac.uk
 Student Representation Group  Amna Atteeq  a.atteeq1@aston.ac.uk
 Student Representation Group  Alison Levey  a.levey@aston.ac.uk
 Students' Union  Amna Atteeq  a.atteeq1@aston.ac.uk



Meetings

This Committee meets four times in each academic year.

Dates for 2017/18

 Date  Time
 7 November 2017  10:00 - 12:00
 27 February 2018  10:00 - 12:00
 14 May 2018  10:00 - 12:00
 27 June 2018  10:00 - 12:00


LTC Strategy/Sharing Session

 Date  Time
 27 June 2018         13:00 - 15:30

 

News and Updates

The Committee is currently involved in the following: the development of Learning and Teaching strategies to reflect the new University Strategy; the development of the Digital Learning Strategy; the implementation of Peer Observation policies; oversight of the Curriculum Management and Business Information Portal projects; implementation of the standardisation of module credit size; review of the assessment of the placement year, the policy for the recording of lectures and the assessment of student group work. 

You can also find the latest news on the quality team's activities by visiting the quality team news page. 

Resources (login required)

You will need to log in to access the resources on this page

Please enter your username and password

Minutes

The minutes of the most recent meeting can be found below:

  • Minutes of Learning and Teaching Committee 7 November 2017

Agendas, minutes and papers from previous and for future meetings can be found on the BlackBoard module for this committee.  If you would like access to these papers, please contact Lesley Stewart who will enable the access permissions.

University Report on Academic Governance (2016/17)

HEFCE’s Operating Model for Quality Assurance requires the University Council to provide an annual assurance statement about:

  • the continuous improvement of the student academic experience and of student outcomes
  • the reliability of degree standards.

The Report to evidence these statements was approved by Council in December 2017, and summarises all aspects of University quality assurance and enhancement processes, giving details of strengths and weaknesses and how we are dealing with them.  The Report was scrutinised in detail by a sub-group of the Senate on 22nd November 2017. The sub-group, which included representation from the Executive, academics, professional staff and students, was pleased to recommend that the Council sign off the annual assurance.  They based their decision on the comprehensive nature of the report and the work that had been undertaken behind it.  They were pleased to see significant external evidence to back up assertions, as well as data driven evidence of impact, and challenging action plans for the coming year to ensure further continuous improvement.   They saw clear evidence of a focus which puts students clearly at the centre of all that is being done

    • University Report on Academic Governance (Preface) 
    • University Report on Academic Governance (Full Report)

Quality Committees

You can find more information about Committees supported by the Quality Team on the Quality Committees page

University Committee System

For more information on the University's Committee System, please visit the University Committee Webpages